This afternoon, I preached at the Ash Wednesday Service at Eckerd College here in St. Petersburg.  I asked my listeners the question, "What will you give up for Lent?"  Have you ever taken that question seriously?  What will you give up during this season of Lent?  About a month ago, a friend of mine posted on his Facebook wall that he had decided to give up peanut butter for Lent.  I was a little slow.  It took me a moment to realize that he was willing to give up a tainted food product.  It wouldn't require much sacrifice on his part! 

What are you giving up for Lent?  Does that question mean anything to you?  Maybe you remember a grandparent or friend of the family who stopped eating certain foods during the months of February, March and April.  Following Holy Week they returned to their old ways.

What am I giving up for Lent?  One of the things that I am giving up for Lent is the conventional way of being church.  I intend to give up the practice of the church as a store that provides religious goods and services to its members or consumers.  I believe the church is called to be a missional community of faith, not a store seeking more customers. 

My friend Jim Walker, at Hot Metal Bridge Faith Community in Pittsburgh, speaks about the church  being a bridge rather than a store.  He invites us to imagine what it would be like if more churches took themselves apart, dismantling the store, and, chose to rebuild themselves into a bridge.  More congregations could stop being stores providing religious goods and services, and, become bridges connecting people to God and bridges connected people to one another especially to those who are poor and suffering in our neighborhoods, cities and world.

I intend to give up this way of being church not just for Lent, but, by God's grace, forever.  I believe the church, at its best, is a bridge connecting people to God and to one another. 

Next Time:  What Are You Giving Up for Lent? Part II